Des Meyer and his Liverpool Under 17 side recently took part in the annual Aegon Futures Cup in the Netherlands. The tournament was founded by Ajax and supported by the sponsors of the tournament Aegon. The format of the tournament is that there are eight teams competing in this tournament, four teams in Pool A and four teams in Pool B. Each of the teams in both pools play three games each and the 2nd placed team in Pool A faces the 1st placed team in Pool B in the semi-finals of the tournament. The other semi-final is made up of the 1st placed team in Pool A and the 2nd placed team in Pool B. The 3rd and 4th placed sides in Pool A then play the 4th and 3rd placed sides in Pool B. The winner of those ties then plays each other in the match for third place. Then of course the winners of the semi-finals play each other with a chance of winning the Aegon Futures Cup. As well as Liverpool and Ajax featuring, other teams that featured included:

Ajax (Holland), Liverpool FC (England), SC Corinthians (Brazil), Celtic FC (Scotland), AC Milan (Italy), SL Benfica (Portugal), Fenerbahce (Turkey), RSC Anderlecht (Belgium).

In their first game, Liverpool U17s beat Brazilian outfit Corinthians 4-0. Goals from Jack Watts, Sheyi Ojo and a brace from Harry Wilson was enough for the Reds to get their campaign off to a winning start. They next took on fellow British side Celtic in the second game but it wasn’t to be for the young Reds as they lost the game 1-0 thanks to a goal from Celtic Midfielder Joe Thompson.
In the third a final game of the tournament, Liverpool faced the hosts Ajax in a game that saw 1st against 2nd in the group with the winners more likely to have an easier semi final. Liverpool fortunately won the game 2-0 thanks to goals from Sheyi Ojo and Harry Wilson.

After picking up 2 wins in 3 games in the group Liverpool qualified for the semi-finals where they played European giants AC Milan. They continued their fine form from the group stages when they beat the Italian outfit 3-1. The three goalscorers in the win over Corinthians were on the score sheet as goals from Watts, Wilson and Ojo sent Liverpool through to the final of the 2014 Aegon Futures Cup.

In the final however, it wasn’t to be for Des Meyer’s side as hosts Ajax got their revenge on their defeat in the final round of group matches. Sheyi Ojo got Liverpool’s sole goal but a late Matthew Virtue-Thick goal ensured that the hosts won the 2014 Aegon Futures Cup.

For more detailed match reports that include video highlights be sure to read my article for Independent Liverpool website This Is Anfield by clicking the link below:

Liverpool Under 17s suffer final defeat to Ajax in Aegon Future Cup

Thanks for reading my evaluated article of the tournament and for more articles be sure to keep an eye out on the blog and finally for day-to-day updates on all things Liverpool FC then follow me on Twitter (@ScottTaylorUK.)