By Scott Taylor

Connor Randall has joined League Two side Shrewsbury Town on a one-month deal. Randall, 19, impressed when Shrewsbury took on the Reds’ Under 21 side earlier on in the season, and manager Micky Mellon was keen to sign him. Randall joins the Shrews after making only one appearance for the Liverpool first team, in their 4-0 triumph over Shamrock Rovers at the end of the 2013/14 season. He plays his trade as a right-back, but has developed into a right-wing back when used in a 3-5-2 formation at the Reds’ Academy in Kirkby.

Upon joining the League Two outfit, Randall was impressed with how his move came about and the youngster was pleased with how welcoming all the staff were to him. He said: “The gaffers just said come down, train with us and see how you feel. I came down and trained on Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, and I really enjoyed it. It has been a good experience coming down here. As soon as I was down here I knew that I would be happy to come. I feel very welcome. There are a few scousers coming down with me so it’s been good.”He hints that he is disappointed with the length of the loan spell, but will relish his time in League Two and even suggested that his loan may be extended until the end of the season:

“It’s only a month, the initial loan, so I’ll do as much as I can while I’m here and hopefully start on Saturday. It will be a great experience to get some league games and hopefully help the team as much as I can and do well here.”

England Youth International Randall was also full of praise for his new team-mates and admitted that just because he comes from a Premier League side, he is not guaranteed a starting place in the side, especially with the competition for places that Shrewsbury has to offer,

“They’re all good lads and there is good quality in training, and I’m looking forward to helping the team as much as I can. There’s a lot of good players so it won’t be easy to get in the team. I’ve got to do as much as I can in training to show the gaffer that I can get in there, and if I do get in then I can do a lot to help the team out. It’s a great team that plays really good football.”

For more Academy updates, follow Scott on Twitter: @ScottTaylorUK

