By Scott Taylor

Lloyd Jones has extended his loan spell with Blackpool from Liverpool until the end of the season. Jones, 19, who is the Reds’ U21s captain, initially joined the Tangerines on a month youth loan deal. However, he impressed in pre-season and thus Blackpool have rewarded him with a loan extension.

It will be the central defender’s third loan spell in the Football League, but his first in League One, after spending time at Accrington Stanley and Cheltenham Town last season. Jones represents England U20s and will look to further his development in the third tier of English football.

Speaking to Blackpool’s Official Website, he expressed his delight at signing for the League One side and hinted that this is the next step for his development as a player. He said: “I’m very excited for the upcoming season, [there are] lots of games coming up and a lot of experience to be learnt as well. I’ve been here just over two weeks now and I’ve really enjoyed the training. All the lads are around my age so I get on with all of them. Pre-season’s been fairly hard but I’m ready to go on Saturday now.”

Jones has been an anchor in the defence in recent games, but he played down any claims that he;s a first choice defender, but wants to focus on his football and where that may lead him to in the future. He said: “I’ve just got to keep playing well, I can predict the future but I’m just going to try keep doing what I’m doing. I wanted to work my way up and the dream is to play for Liverpool but I’ll just take it step by step.”

